

European Innovative Games Award 2010 - submission phase extended

Roughly two weeks prior to the end of the extended submission phase for the European Innovative Games Award 2010 the organizers also announce this year's jury.

Frankfurt am Main, September 1, 2010 – Today the organizers of the European Innovative Games Award 2010 announced that the submission phase for this year's contest will be extended to September 10; at the same time they presented their top-class, international jury. For about two weeks from now on game developers, publishers, freelancers and young professionals from all member states of the EU have still the opportunity to present their products to the high-level jury and may have chance to win the renowned award. The European Innovative Games Award 2010 will be awarded in three categories: 'T – Innovative Technology', 'GD – Game Design', and 'AME – Innovative Application Methods and Environments'. Products are applicable, if they are either not longer than one year on the market, or, if they are still in prototype status; the latter have the chance on an advancement award endowed with 10,000 Euro.

"Once again we were able to get a top-class jury for the European Innovative Games Award", says Joerg Weber of the game industry association gamearea-FRM. The new members would have various biographical backgrounds and together with their different professional specialties would reflect the internationality and diversity of the award, he adds and then summarizes: "We are sure that the decisions of this year's jury will also have an international impact".

This year's jury for the European Innovative Games Award 2010

Dr. Malte Behrmann – General Secretary at the European Game Developer Federation (EGDF) **Maruia Gutiérrez Díaz** – Adviser to the Director at the Directorate for Lifelong learning: higher education and international affairs at the European Commission.

Jochen Hamma – Content and Speaker Manager at the International Game Developers Association (IGDA), Chapter Frankfurt

Heiko Klinge – Senior Project Manager "Making Games", IDG Entertainment Media GmbH

Simon Little – Managing Director of the Interactive Software Federation of Europe (ISFE)

Dieter Posch (FDP) – Hessian Minister for Economics, Transport, Urban and Regional Development

Frank Sliwka – Vice President European Business Development and Event Director, Game Developers Conference (GDC) Europe

Carsten van Husen - CEO, Gameforge 4D GmbH

Jan Wagner – Board member at the game industry association gamearea-FRM e. V.

The European Innovative Games Award was established in 2008 and honors special innovative qualities in computer and video games. The award is organized by the Frankfurt Economic Development GmbH, the Hessian Ministry for Economics, Transport, Urban and Regional Development in scope of the program Hessen-IT, as well as the game industry association gamearea-FRM e.V. and in cooperation with the European Commission. The glamorous award show is held in Frankfurt am Main, Germany.

European Innovative Games Award 2010 – submission phase extended

Extended Submission Deadline: September 10, 2010

Further Information, Rules & Submission Materials: www.innovative-games.eu

Submissions & Contact: Wirtschaftsförderung Frankfurt - Frankfurt Economic Development - GmbH Manuela Schiffner Hanauer Landstraße 126-128 D-60314 Frankfurt am Main Germany Fon +49 69 – 212 36 213 manuela.schiffner@frankfurt-business.net

European Innovative Games Award 2010 (only on invitation): Fr., October 15 2010, 8 pm

Showcases – Nominees & award winners show their projects: Sa. October 16 2010, 10 am

Venue: Messe Frankfurt / Congress Center Ludwig-Erhard-Anlage 1 D-60327 Frankfurt am Main

Press Contact: Wirtschaftsförderung Frankfurt – Frank-furt Economic Development- GmbH Knut Brockmann Hanauer Landstraße 126-128 D-60314 Frankfurt Fon +49-69-212 40787 games@frankfurt-business.net

