PRESSRELEASE



Jury named for EIGA 2009

Three weeks prior to the deadline for turning in proposals, organizers of the European Innovative Games Award (EIGA) announce this year's jury

Frankfurt am Main, September 01, 2009 – The competition for the EIGA 2009 is up and running. Almost a month before the deadline expires to turn in proposals, the top class international jury is presented. Games developers, publishers, publishing houses, freelancers and young professionals from all member states of the European Union can submit their contributions to the nine jurors until September 25, to participate in the contest for the most prestigious award. EIGA will be awarded in three categories: "T" representing Innovative Technology, "GD" standing for Innovative Game Design, and "AME", the category awarding Innovative Applications Methods and Environments. Qualified to participate are products published less than a year ago, as well as prototypes. Latter have the chance to win one of the sponsorship awards, which grants 5,000 Euro to the winner. The award ceremony will take place in Frankfurt's CineStar Metropolis on November 6, 2009.

Professor Wolfgang Thaenert, Director of the Hessian Regulatory Authority for Commercial Broadcasting and New Media (LPR Hessen), is convinced of the positive impact the jury will have: "By presenting the 2009 EIGA jury, we once again can introduce to you a high class panel, whose judement will be well-noticed internationally." When looking at the biographies and the professional skill catalogue the members of the jury present, and at their international background and broad range of facets, Thaenert continues, one can see how high levels have been set for this contest.

Members of the EIGA 2009 Jury

Dr. Malte Behrmann, lawyer, is located in Berlin. He is Managing Director Policy of the Federal Association of Game Developers (G.A.M.E. e.V.), Secretary General of the European Game Developer Federation (EGDF), member of the Steering Board of "Networked and Electronic Media", and author of the specialized book "Kino und Spiele" (Cinema and Games).

Maruja Gutierrez Diaz, head of units Lifelong Learning, and Innovation and Creativity at the Education & Culture Directorate-General, European Commission. She is in charge of the European Year of Creativity and Innovation. An architect and urban planner by education, she worked for the European Commission in several positions, among them unit head of Multimedia – Culture, Education, Training.

Andre Horn, Publisher, IDG Entertainment Media GmbH. Among others, IDG publishes titles "Gamestar", "GamePro", and "Making Games". Being chairman of Videospielkultur e.V. (Video Games Culture), the cultural scientist strives for the social acceptance of video games, declaring them a highly valuable cultural good.

Jury named for EIGA 2009

Entry information & contact:

Manuela Schiffner Wirtschaftsförderung Frankfurt -Frankfurt Economic Development - GmbH Hanauer Landstraße 126-128 D- 60314 Frankfurt am Main Fon: +49-69-212 36213 manuela.schiffner@frankfurt-business.net

Detailed information about regulations & entry: www.innovative-games.eu

Final entry date:

Sept. 25, 2009

Award ceremony:

Nov. 6, 2009 Cinestar Metropolis Eschenheimer Anlage 40 60318 Frankfurt / Main

Event-Partner:

browsergames forum 2009 Nov. 6 - 7, 2009 www.bgf2009.de

Press contact:

alpha bravo consulting Johannes Schäfer Holzhausenstr. 22 D-60322 Frankfurt Fon +49-69-631 460 24 Cell +49-173-530 69 30 j.schaefer@alpha-bravo-consulting.com



PRESSRELEASE



Simon Little, is Managing Director of the Interactive Software Federation of Europe (ISFE). Before that, Little worked as Director Group Business Affairs for Take Two, handling strategic and legal affairs.

Oliver Menne, Managing Director of Eurogamer Network Ltd., started writing articles for "GameOn" and "Magic Disk64" when he was 16 years old. Before starting his own business with "Eurogamer.de", he was publisher of "PC Games", and member of the managing board of Computech Media AG. There, being the Chief Editorial Officer, he launched magazines in the U.S., Great Britain, France and Scandinavia.

Dieter Posch, Liberal Democratic Party (FDP), is Minister of Economics, Transport, Urban and Regional Development at the state of Hesse. Since 1994, he also is Vice Chairman of the Hessian Liberal Democrats. From 1989 to 1991, Posch, a trained lawyer with a focus on administrative law, was member of the Broadcasting Council at the Public Radio Broadcasting Company "Hessischer Rundfunk". Today, Posch is member of the Assembly of the Hessian Regulatory Authority for Commercial Broadcasting and New Media (LPR Hessen).

Frank Sliwka is Vice President European Business Development at Think Services, and also Event Director Developers Conference (GDC) Europe. Before that, Sliwka, among other activities, was founder of German eSport Association, Program Director for the Games Convention Developers Conference (GCDC), and was responsible for the Games Convention Asia.

Carsten van Husen is President of PEOGA, the Pan-European Online Games Association, a joint initiative of publishers from all over Europe. In addition, van Husen is Head of Publishing at Gameforge AG. The Germany-based company has a focus on developing and publishing browser and client based games.

Jan Wagner is Managing Director of Cliffhanger Productions GmbH. Wagner founded, along with others, Frankfurt's gamearea-FRM e.V., currently holding the position of member of the initiative's board. Being an active member of the games community for more than 15 years, Wagner has at his command an extensive knowledge of producing and designing computer games, and games related product management, public relations and community management.

The European Innovative Games Award: EIGA was created in 2008, and honors extraordinary innovations in computer and video games. Organizer of the European wide contest is a support organization, including the City of Frankfurt, the Hessian Ministry of Economics, Transport, Urban and Regional Development in the scope of the program Hessen-IT, the Hessian Regulatory Authority for Commercial Broadcasting and New Media (LPR Hessen) and the games industry association gamearea FRM e.V. The EIGA contest is realized in cooperation with the European Commission. Winners of the EIGA contest are announced at the award ceremony in Frankfurt, on November 6, 2009.

Press contact:
alpha bravo consulting
Johannes Schäfer
Holzhausenstr. 22
D-60322 Frankfurt
Fon +49-69-631 460 24
Cell +49-173-530 69 30
j.schaefer@alpha-bravo-consulting.com

