

Hessian Ministry of Economics, Transport, Urban and Regional Development

Press release

Wiesbaden / Germany, October 20, 2008

European Innovative Games Award 2008 – Decision on short list

Out of all titles submitted EU wide, eleven games are nominated for the EIGA Award 2008

Out of 77 games submitted, eleven titles are nominated to receive one of the three prizes. Hundreds of guests are expected to attend the ceremony on November 6 in Darmstadt, among them Klaus-Peter Guettler, State Secretary of the Hessian Ministry of Economics, Transport, Urban and Regional Development, and Rudolf Strohmeier, Head of Cabinet, EU Commissioner Viviane Reding (Information Society and Media). The gala event will be accompanied by "The Gypsys", a cult band from Frankfurt, as well as "you fm" radio presenter Raffaela Jungbauer and Jochen Domenicus, who will lead guests through the ceremony.

While having in common a very high level of innovation, all titles submitted are very diverse by nature. Besides "Sharkworld" by Ranj Serious Games (Netherlands), "Rider Spoke" by Blast Theory and "Heavenly Sword" by Ninja Theory (both UK), German entries "Crysis" by Crytek, "PES 2008" by Konami Digital Entertainment, "Blake White" by Games Academy, and "Somersault" by Enter-Brain-Ment made it on to the list of nominees. Also, "The Graveyard" by Belgian Tale of Tales, "Swinxs" by Swinxs (Netherlands), "Wii Fit" by Nintendo of Europe (Germany) and "Remote Impact – Shadowboxing over a Distance" by Distance Lab (UK) managed to become part of the short list.

Until November 6, the top level EIGA jury will evaluate the submitted games focusing on technologies implemented in the game, content and overall realization, thereby identifying the degree of innovation found in each game. In addition to the three awards, carrying a value of € 20,000, and € 10,000, and €5,000, respectively, another three honor prizes will be awarded.

The European Innovative Games Award:

The award, offered this year for the first time, is promoted by the Hessian Ministry of Economics, Transport, Urban and Regional Development, and Hessen-IT, the ministry's initiative to support the Hessian IT industry, and the European Commission. Until August 31, games developers, games publishers, publishing companies, freelancers, and young professionals from all EU member states were invited to submit their proposals for the award, which comes with a total prize money of € 35,000. Members of the EIGA jury are Alois Rhiel, Minister of Economics, Transport, Urban and Regional Development of the State of Hesse; Maruja Gutiérrez Diaz, European Commission; Patrice Chazerand, Interactive Software Federation of Europe (ISFE); Olaf Wolters, Federal Association of Interactive Entertainment Software (BIU); Andre Horn, IDG Entertainment Media GmbH; and Malte Behrmann, European Games Developer Federation (EGDF). The EIGA Award Ceremony on November 6, 2008, in the "darmstadtium", the new conference center of the city of Darmstadt, will be part of the "iTEC08" conference program.

For further information, please see <u>www.innovative-games.eu</u>, and <u>www.itec08.eu</u>, or contact

Christian Flory Hessen-IT c/o HA Hessen Agentur GmbH Abraham-Lincoln-Strasse 38 - 42 65189 Wiesbaden, Germany Tel.: +49 (0)611-774-8423 Fax: +49 (0)611-774-8620 christian.flory@hessen-agentur.de